We know the dog’s name, but…

How often have you heard something along those lines when you’re outside chatting with someone, and a neighbor goes by walking his/her pooch? It’s funny how we pick up on the dog’s name, but not the owner’s. To remedy this situation, I thought I’d do a little series of posts on our best friends, and since I’ll probably be asking to “interview” you about your dog(s) and/or cat(s), I thought it only fair to start with myself, keeping in mind that this blog isn’t all about me, it’s about all of us. So, here goes. First a picture of one of our bassett hounds, Fred-Louis, most often referred to as “Fred,” or “No-Fred!”

Fred, waiting for his walk

Back in ’05, I saw Fred’s picture on the Internet, and it was love at first site. He was in a shelter in West Memphis, Arkansas, so we drove over there and adopted him. We thought he was going to be a wonderful companion for our very old beagle, but Margaret-Ann didn’t want to have anything to do with him! (All of our pets have two names. It’s a southern thing, I guess.) Margaret-Ann passed away not long after we got Fred, so she probably wasn’t feeling well enough to play with a young dog.

We think Fred is about six,  as he wasn’t fully grown when we got him. He thinks he’s a lap dog, but he weighs 65 pounds, so it’s not very comfortable to hold him for long. I usually end up with his head in my lap whenever I sit on the sofa.

Fred loves other dogs and children. He’ll even tolerate a cat as long as it doesn’t run. Then he’s after it! He and our other dog, Bailey, bark at the squirrels like crazy, and boy, do we ever have a lot of squirrels around here! The dogs are in squirrel heaven until we go outside and wave their bark-collars at them. Just the sight of the bark collars is usually enough to get them to pipe down. We do try to be good neighbors.

Bailey Jane chillin' in the RV

Bassetts have the second-best noses, after the Bloodhound, and golly, do they ever sniff. They love the trails and will sniff for hours if I let them. Bailey sniffs more than she walks. She was rescued in ’05 near I-45 here in The Woodlands when some evacuees let their dogs loose as they sat in traffic, trying to get out of town before Hurricane Rita hit. A nice lady rescued her then advertised her as “free to a good home.” We got her while visiting our daughter in The Woodlands in June of ’06 and took her back to Tennessee with us. Now she’s back here again. She’s come full circle! We don’t know how old she is, but we’re guessing maybe eight to ten years old.

They’re both lovable and friendly, though Bailey has a tendency to bark at other dogs and people. Mostly what she is saying to them is, “Come over here and see me!” Bassett hounds are great pets, but they shed a lot, and some of them slobber. Fortunately for us, both of ours have a relatively dry mouth. Fred slobbers when he gets really excited about something, but that doesn’t happen too often.

So the next time you see me out with one of them, you can wave and say, “Hi Melanie; Hi Fred or Bailey!” (I don’t expect anyone to remember which one is which.)

I can’t wait to talk to you about your precious pets. They really are valued family members, aren’t they? I knew we landed in the right neighborhood when I realized how many dogs are here too.

 


About M.J.Deare

I am a writer, actively researching topics of interest. I am also a graduate of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, with a degree in English, and have a master's degree from the University of Memphis. Born in New Orleans, I lived there until moving to northwest Arkansas and from there to Memphis, Tennessee. My husband and I currently reside in The Woodlands, Texas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

