A Handy Gadget to Have

This is a shot of our newest toy, a Weedeater blower with a gutter-blowing attachment.

Weedeater Blower with Gutter Attachment

This thing works like a charm for a one-story house. You just hook the end of it over the gutter’s edge and walk along, blowing leaves all over the place. It comes with safety goggles that I found out you really do have to wear, and I’d go so far as to recommend wearing a hat too. The first time I used it, I ended up with a lot of leaf-bits in my hair. This thing is very easy to use. The hardest part for me is keeping the extension cord straight. If I had to do it over again, I think I’d buy the gas model. I could clean all the gutters in ten minutes if I had the gas-powered Weedeater.

We ordered ours online and picked it up at Ace Hardware. No shipping charges. It was under $100, and well worth it, as we got quotes of $100 to come clean out our gutters! Good grief! We need them cleaned out constantly since we’re living under five huge post oaks. Forget that.

We had to have gutters installed in order to have planting beds and to keep water from splashing on the siding and rotting it out. But we decided against gutter guards. First of all, they’re really expensive, and second, people told us that their gutters get clogged up even with the gutter guard, so that sort of cinched it for us. We opted for the “unguarded gutters” and just resign ourselves to cleaning them often.

 


About M.J.Deare

I am a writer, actively researching topics of interest. I am also a graduate of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, with a degree in English, and have a master's degree from the University of Memphis. Born in New Orleans, I lived there until moving to northwest Arkansas and from there to Memphis, Tennessee. My husband and I currently reside in The Woodlands, Texas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

