Sloppy Joes and a Blast from the Past

Yesterday, I dragged out some old cookbooks, searching for Jim’s favorite recipe for sloppy joes, and with a little help from him, I found it. As I was thumbing through the cookbook, which is one of those compiled by a ladies’ club in New Orleans for a fundraiser, I noticed a whole section devoted to recipes for goodies to be consumed in the “rec” room. Gosh, talk about a blast from the past. I think we really did refer to a den as a “rec” room, or recreation room (for you youngsters), once upon a time. Maybe people with basements still do refer to them as rec rooms, but now we’ve gone on to other, updated terms, such as “the keeping room,” (very la ti da), “the open space,” “the family space,” etc. We now seem to have “spaces” instead of rooms. Nothing seems to stay the same.

One thing that hasn’t changed is that this is a very good recipe for homemade sloppy joes, which I’ll be happy to share with you via email. mjdeare@gmail.com. It’s one of those dishes that you can let simmer all day. The longer you cook it, the better it tastes, and it sure does make the kitchen, um.. “cooking space” smell good.


About M.J.Deare

I am a writer, actively researching topics of interest. I am also a graduate of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, with a degree in English, and have a master's degree from the University of Memphis. Born in New Orleans, I lived there until moving to northwest Arkansas and from there to Memphis, Tennessee. My husband and I currently reside in The Woodlands, Texas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

