A Very Easy Baked Cheese Spread from Paula Deen

I recently received the gift of Paula Deen’s cookbook, The Lady & Sons Too! and the very first recipe looked so good that I just had to try it last weekend. It turned out great, so I thought you might like to give it a try too. Here it is:

Baked Cheese Spread

Yields 3 Cups

1 cup mayonnaise*

1 cup grated Colby cheese**

1 cup chopped onion

Dash of Tabasco sauce (optional)

Dash of Worcestershire (optional)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Mix all of the ingredients together in a pie plate. Bake about 30 minutes or until golden brown on top. Serve with crackers or bagel chips. That’s it!

*I would use low-fat mayo next time. The full-fat Hellman’s I used left a bit of oil at the bottom of the pie pan.

**I used a mixture of grated Colby and Monterey Jack. I couldn’t find a package that contained only grated Colby cheese. It turned out fine, but I would use a little more Tabasco next time because we like things spicy!

We served this piping hot, right out of the oven on small individual appetizer plates with crackers and a spreader. There were only three adults, and we ate almost every bit of it! It went quickly, with all three of us going back for seconds.  If you do use this recipe for a larger crowd, you might want to plan accordingly. Bon appetit!

 


About M.J.Deare

I am a writer, actively researching topics of interest. I am also a graduate of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, with a degree in English, and have a master's degree from the University of Memphis. Born in New Orleans, I lived there until moving to northwest Arkansas and from there to Memphis, Tennessee. My husband and I currently reside in The Woodlands, Texas.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

