Taking photos of Christmas Lights

A few nights ago, I went out and tried to take pictures of some of the beautiful lights in our neighborhood. I don’t think I’ve ever once taken a good picture at night, and there are probably two reasons why. 1) I don’t know what I’m doing, and 2) I don’t have a really good camera. So, I just sort of bumble along, with disappointing results every time.

Nevertheless, I’m going to post a few of these pictures. Maybe one of you can give me some insight into my mistakes. The first picture is of the Turner’s house, which is really bright and beautiful, though you can’t tell from the picture. Incidentally, Ken tells me that he’s still in the process of putting lights out, and that the back of their home is decorated as well. Now there’s the spirit of the season for you! The picture below does not do justice to the lights, but here it is.

Prettier-than-it-looks-in-this-picture

Next I moved on down to Cindy and Lyndon’s where they’ve put out a lovely multi-colored display on their shrubs near the street. Very nice. We all get to enjoy them that way. Thank you. Once again, the picture does not do them justice.

Lovely lights not caught very well on camera

Then a picture of Marilyn and Ron’s trees, which glow brightly and uniformly in the distance. I can see those trees from our driveway, and I go out every night to look at them. They look dim in spots in this photo, but they look perfect in “real life.” Now that I’m studying this picture more carefully, it occurs to me that there may have been some shrubbery obscuring part of the tree on the left. Maybe I should have gotten closer and taken shots from different angles. I’ll try again.

Marilyn and Ron's Trees

Lastly, I decided to take a few pictures at our own house. When I downloaded the photos, I noticed something interesting. The polar bear, which is lit by LED lights, is much brighter and shows up much better than the incandescent lights, which are brand-new by the way, so the age of the lights has nothing to do with it.

Just a word of caution about the LED lights. When you put an LED figure or a string of LED lights next to the old-style lights, the results are jarring. So my recommendation would be NOT to buy LED lights, unless you’re willing to replace ALL of your lights. LED lights are bright and lovely, but our polar bear looks out of place, and I’m probably going to move him to the back yard. That way, he’ll be out of the picture out front, and we can begin keeping up with the Turner’s!

The too-bright polar bear


About M.J.Deare

I am a writer, actively researching topics of interest. I am also a graduate of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, with a degree in English, and have a master's degree from the University of Memphis. Born in New Orleans, I lived there until moving to northwest Arkansas and from there to Memphis, Tennessee. My husband and I currently reside in The Woodlands, Texas.
This entry was posted in Neighbor News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

