No Landline

We’ve been without a landline for a year now, so we’ve had time to get used to just using our cell phones. There are some positives and some negatives about the situation, which I thought I’d take a minute to share. It seems that many people are at least considering doing away with that old phone. One positive is that many home security systems do not require a landline any longer, so don’t let that hold you back. The biggest positive, however, has to be not getting bombarded by sales calls day and night. We put ourselves on the do-not-call list, but then we started getting a lot of calls from our three alma maters, requesting donations. Then other charities joined the fray, and it got to be very irritating. We don’t get those calls any more, and we don’t miss them!

There are some negatives though. For one thing, it isn’t as easy to hear the cell phone ringing if you’re in another room, and you have to remember to charge the phone every day. Someone needs to invent a handy “charging cradle” that stays plugged in and also rings loudly when a calls comes in. I pretty much have to wear my phone clipped to my waist all the time in order not to miss calls, but I’m used to doing it, so it doesn’t bother me… except when I take it off and forget where I left my phone… which is happening a lot lately!

Another negative is that your phone number won’t be in a directory, so you’ve got to be sure to give your cell phone number to anyone who might even think about calling you. And there’s one other odd thing. When we first moved here from Tennessee, I went to the AT&T store to inquire about changing to a local area code. AT&T insisted that I did not have to change my phone number, so I still have a Tennessee area code. When I call some people, it shows up on the screen as “Tennessee,” and they think that I’m making a sales call! Our plumber and electrician always call me back. They never answer when I call them. Even though they know us, they always say something along the lines of, “Oh, I thought you were selling something.” It can be a little frustrating, but now we know to expect it.

All in all, if we had it do over again, we’d probably still do without the landline. We miss some calls, but there’s always voice mail, so we can call back. Plus, having a “foreign” area code with a local address can be a conversation starter! When I’ve left my PetSmart card at home, they ask for my phone number. As soon as I start off with “901,” the sales clerk asks me, “Now where is that number from?” I’ve been asked that a number of times, so I really do wish AT&T would have given me a “local” number. But then again, I get to tell part of my life-story to the clerk… Not really. I just say, “We moved here from Tennessee…” Actually I guess that really is part of my life-story. The poor sales clerk is a captive audience.


About M.J.Deare

I am a writer, actively researching topics of interest. I am also a graduate of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, with a degree in English, and have a master's degree from the University of Memphis. Born in New Orleans, I lived there until moving to northwest Arkansas and from there to Memphis, Tennessee. My husband and I currently reside in The Woodlands, Texas.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

