This Blog is “Made in the USA”

This morning, I happened to read the label on one of the ever-present cans of Alpo dog food in the pantry. I was just curious about where the stuff was made. Here’s what it says on the label: Manufactured by Nestle Purina Petcare Company, St. Louis, Missouri. So far, so good. Then it goes on to say, Trademarks owned by Societe’ Des Produits Nestle S.A. Vevey, Switzerland. So that makes me wonder, do the profits go to Switzerland, or do they stay in the U.S.? Well, at least it’s not made in China, the way the tainted pet food was, (which killed a friend of mine’s pet Boxer), but nevertheless, if you’re trying to support the U.S. economy by buying products produced here, it’s getting harder and harder to find them.

I found a web site that lists products produced and manufactured in the U.S.A., and I thought I’d give you the URL so you could take a look, if you have a mind to do that.

http://www.americansworking.com/

There are surprising few products in some categories, and most are products I’ve never heard of before. It’s pretty sad. I know these foreign companies do have a good number of Americans on the payroll, but the biggest question is this: where do the profits go? It’s a complicated issue. If we all suddenly stopped buying Purina products, a lot of good folks in St. Louis would be out of a job! For my part, I think I’ll just start looking for products NOT made in China. Wish me luck.


About M.J.Deare

I am a writer, actively researching topics of interest. I am also a graduate of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, with a degree in English, and have a master's degree from the University of Memphis. Born in New Orleans, I lived there until moving to northwest Arkansas and from there to Memphis, Tennessee. My husband and I currently reside in The Woodlands, Texas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to This Blog is “Made in the USA”

  1. Shirlyn says:

    Talk about made in the USA…John and visited Banff and I went to the spa. They used these shoes that were the best I have ever worn to resist slipping on wet tiles.
    GREAT POOL shoes… I’m giving the to every woman in my family this year..
    I found that they were made right here in the USA…I highly recommend them..
    OKA check them out on line.

    shoesthatloveyou.com

    • Thank you so much for your feedback, and I will definitely go to their web site and pass this information along. I just discovered that Old Glory Pet Food is made in the U.S.A. I’ll be looking for it the next time I go to the store. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

