Buying Locally

A while back, I read an article in The Villager about local tax receipts, <yawn>, that turned out to be pretty interesting. It seems that one community on the other side of Hwy. 45 saw their tax revenue skyrocket when the furniture store, Rooms to Go, opened. That community was going to be able to fund certain services they weren’t able to fund before, and that sort of made an impression on me. Buying in The Woodlands keeps tax dollars in The Woodlands. Pretty obvious, but it never dawned on me how much difference one, single store could make in overall tax revenues.

With that in mind, I feel compelled to mention the opening of yet another Hubble and Hudson in The Woodlands on Research Forest. I got a call from my daughter last night, who had gone there yesterday with a few of her gal pals. and she gave me a quick report. The place was packed with a lunch crowd at 1:30, and while they were waiting for a seat, they chatted with an employee who told them they were amazed at the response to their new store. From Day One, they were serving the number of customers they’d expected to have six months down the road. She said the food was delicious and well worth the wait.

I’m really not a Hubble and Hudson groupie, I promise. I just thought you might want to go check out the new location and at the same time, keep those tax dollars flowing right here at home.


About M.J.Deare

I am a writer, actively researching topics of interest. I am also a graduate of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, with a degree in English, and have a master's degree from the University of Memphis. Born in New Orleans, I lived there until moving to northwest Arkansas and from there to Memphis, Tennessee. My husband and I currently reside in The Woodlands, Texas.
This entry was posted in Around The Woodlands. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

