Speeders

With the kids out of school for the holiday break, it makes me all the more aware of the folks speeding along Acorn Oak. Yesterday afternoon, when I was walking Fred, I saw at least ten children, large and small, crossing or walking along the street. There were three young ones crossing at the trail just before a sport-ute came barreling around the curve.

I’ve seen a deputy parked in one of the cul-de-sacs a time or two, waiting for a speeder to come by, but they’re all really busy watching out for the “millions” of people at the mall and Market Street right now. I’ve seen signs in other places that ask people to slow down because they love their children. Lately, I’ve been waving at them and shouting, “Slow down!” It doesn’t seem to help. Maybe I need to add, “We love our children too!”


About M.J.Deare

I am a writer, actively researching topics of interest. I am also a graduate of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, with a degree in English, and have a master's degree from the University of Memphis. Born in New Orleans, I lived there until moving to northwest Arkansas and from there to Memphis, Tennessee. My husband and I currently reside in The Woodlands, Texas.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

