The Tree is Down

Well, the needles were falling, so I decided that the live Christmas tree had to go yesterday. After I got the decorations off, I laid down a “towel pathway” to the back door and managed to get it out without too much of a mess. Jim hauled it to recycling right away, so it was out of sight in no time. Not sure what we’ll do next year. It will probably be an artificial tree or no tree at all.

While I was packing away decorations, I had a chance to watch a couple of episodes of “Hoarding — Buried Alive” on TLC. Wow! If you ever want to get motivated to clean out your old junk, watch an episode of that show! Good grief! After watching that for a couple of hours, I went and cleaned out four dresser drawers that didn’t particularly need it. I’ve developed sort of a minimalist mindset anyway since we’ve moved into this smaller house, but I was pitching stuff in the trash left and right. It was “spring cleaning” in December. Try watching an episode or two of that show and see if it doesn’t have the same effect on you.


About M.J.Deare

I am a writer, actively researching topics of interest. I am also a graduate of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, with a degree in English, and have a master's degree from the University of Memphis. Born in New Orleans, I lived there until moving to northwest Arkansas and from there to Memphis, Tennessee. My husband and I currently reside in The Woodlands, Texas.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Tree is Down

  1. Joyce says:

    I love that show! I also get into a good “throwing away mood” after watching it. Did you know there is also a show about animal hoarders?

  2. Yes! I’ve seen snippits of that show too, but I’ve never watched an episode. It would break my heart to see animals living in such poor conditions. The whole hoarding thing is so sad. I really feel sorry for the families who live with it. Seems as if they could come up with a better way to treat it; maybe develop an anti-hoarding medication! The two episodes I watched the other day are still haunting me…

Leave a Reply

