Waterway Walk

After days of going nowhere and doing pretty much nothing, Fred and I were getting a serious case of cabin fever. So yesterday afternoon, I decided on a whim to take him for a walk along the waterway and to show him the koi pond. It was cloudy and breezy, of course, but it was pretty nice to be outside anyway, and guess what? There was no one else around. We practically had the whole waterway to ourselves. Very nice.

When we got to the koi pond, the fish were right there, all together in a beautiful school near the surface, their little mouths formed into “O’s”, waiting for a morsel of food. They’re really quite a sight to see, so big and so close to the edge of the pond. I held Fred tightly to make sure he didn’t try to catch a fish for dinner, but… he wasn’t interested in the fish at all. Nah, who cares about a stupid fish? He had “other fish to fry,” namely, sniffing that particular clump of grass in the corner where some other canine had no doubt left a message for him.

After walking around a bit more and visiting various other clumps of grass and bushes, we headed back to the car, and that’s when the fun began. Fred did NOT want to go home. Basset hounds can be incredibly stubborn at times; sweet, but stubborn. I ended up wrestling with him for a good ten minutes, trying to persuade him to get back in the car. At 65 pounds, he’s too big for me to pick up all at once, and he practices passive resistance, giving me no help at all. For a while there I thought I was going to have to tie him to a tree and leave him there with a sign, “Free to Good Home.” I was thinking bad thoughts, that’s for sure.

I finally got him in the car by tackling him in two sections; first the front end and then the back end, and then a mighty heave ho, and he was finally in, tail and all. He was so annoyed with me that he sulked on the floorboard all the way home. That may be his last visit to the Waterway. He didn’t appreciate the fish anyway. Maybe I should be thankful that he wasn’t interested, after all.


About M.J.Deare

I am a writer, actively researching topics of interest. I am also a graduate of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, with a degree in English, and have a master's degree from the University of Memphis. Born in New Orleans, I lived there until moving to northwest Arkansas and from there to Memphis, Tennessee. My husband and I currently reside in The Woodlands, Texas.
This entry was posted in Around The Woodlands. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

