Woodlands Hiking Club

If any of you are interested, The Woodlands Hiking Club will be having their next meeting on Wednesday, January 5th at 7:00 p.m. at the South Regional Library on Lake Robbins.

I’ll be going, and if any of you want to ride with me, just let me know. They usually have a group of twenty or so at the meetings. They have refreshments, and a short program of some kind. They’re a really nice group of people of all ages.

The next day hike they have scheduled is set for Saturday morning, January 8th at the Gourley Nature Trail and Collins Park, which is not for from here along the Cypress Creek Greenway. I’ve never been there before, of course, so it’s a nice way to get acquainted with various hiking spots around here that are off the pavement. I’ve just been on a few day hikes with them, but they’re always fun. There have been anywhere from ten to twenty hikers along for the walk. The day hikes usually last a couple of hours. They have weekend camping/hiking trips too, but I haven’t been on one of those yet. I know they’re planning for a trip to the Smoky Mountains later on, and I surely would love to go on that trip with them. Hiking to the waterfalls in the Smoky Mountains is a real treat.


About M.J.Deare

I am a writer, actively researching topics of interest. I am also a graduate of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, with a degree in English, and have a master's degree from the University of Memphis. Born in New Orleans, I lived there until moving to northwest Arkansas and from there to Memphis, Tennessee. My husband and I currently reside in The Woodlands, Texas.
This entry was posted in Around The Woodlands. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

