The Blackjack Oak… Tree

Being the sort of geeky person that I am, as soon as we moved here, I “Googled” Blackjack Oak to see if there actually was a tree by that name, and as you probably already know, there certainly is.

I was sort of curious about how it came by its name, and according to at least two web sites, the leaves on the tree are said to somewhat resemble a blackjack, which is a short, leather-wrapped bludgeon. Yikes! I’d rather think of a card game when I hear the name, which is what I suspect most people do. When we first moved here, I called to order something or other on the phone, and the guy taking my order blurted out, “Are you in Vegas?” when I gave him the street name. I had to laugh.

I’m not a tree expert, so I’m not really sure if we actually do have any Blackjack Oak trees on the circle or the cul-de-sacs. Do you know? Here are a few pictures that would help in identification. Source:  http://www.cas.vanderbilt.edu/bioimages/species/quma3.htm


About M.J.Deare

I am a writer, actively researching topics of interest. I am also a graduate of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, with a degree in English, and have a master's degree from the University of Memphis. Born in New Orleans, I lived there until moving to northwest Arkansas and from there to Memphis, Tennessee. My husband and I currently reside in The Woodlands, Texas.
This entry was posted in Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Blackjack Oak… Tree

  1. Susan says:

    Hi Melanie,
    We have a few Blackjack Oak trees in our yard. My grandfather identified them for us when we first moved here 15 years ago. I had never heard of them before we moved to this neighborhood.

  2. M.J.Deare says:

    I’d never heard of them before either. Please point them out to me the next time I see you out in your yard. Maybe we should post a (tastefully rendered) sign near one of them, “Blackjack Oak Tree.” When I give someone our address, I usually add that there is an actual tree by that name. No one has ever said that they’ve heard of it before either. They’re probably not rare though.
    Thanks for taking the time to write!

    • Stan Adkins says:

      Researching Lone Jack, Missouri, I discovered the name was derived from a lone Black Jack Tree that stood on a ridge near where the town was plotted and which could be seen for miles in every direction, therby the name. Lone Jack is a small villiage, now an incorporated town, several miles south and east of Kansas City, Missouri proper. Thanks for your research on the tree. Now I know what one looks like.

      Stan Adkins, Independence, Missouri

Leave a Reply

