Off the Beaten Path

It started off pretty cool this morning, but we soon shed our jackets as we trekked down the Gourley Nature Trail along Cypress Creek this morning. There were 14 of us, and that includes Joyce and myself. It was great to be out in the woods on a beautiful day with a fun group of people. We hiked for about three hours and 4+ miles before we made it back to the parking lot where we’d started, and boy, was I ever hungry! Joyce drove and was very kind to offer to stop for some grub on the way home, but I was good and waited. Had a big hamburger here at the house that probably replaced every single calorie I burned, but wow, did it ever taste good!

If you think you’d ever like to join us on a future hike, please let me know. You’d be more than welcome. You might be surprised at how many good places there are to hike around here and what fun it can be to hike with a friendly group.


About M.J.Deare

I am a writer, actively researching topics of interest. I am also a graduate of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, with a degree in English, and have a master's degree from the University of Memphis. Born in New Orleans, I lived there until moving to northwest Arkansas and from there to Memphis, Tennessee. My husband and I currently reside in The Woodlands, Texas.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

