Pedestrian Bridge Over Grogan’s Mill

I’ve taken Fred over the pedestrian bridge a few times since we’ve been here, and Marilyn and I have walked over it a time or two. To tell you the truth, the appearance of the bridge didn’t strike me one way or the other. It’s just one of those strictly utilitarian structures that serves a good purpose, getting across Grogan’s without getting killed.

But, seeing as how the bridge is in The Woodlands, it’s now been decided to make it more attractive. I’m all for that. Can’t get enough of attractiveness. Let’s dude it up and make it into a real centerpiece for the Village. We’ll have a picture of it on every web page with the name “Grogan’s Mill” on it. Why not?

The only thing that gives me pause is that I’m hoping they’re not going to remove the high fencing over the bridge. Back in the old hometown, we went through a “phase” I guess you’d call it, a few years back, where some of our less-conscientious citizens thought it a “fun” idea to drop assorted heavy objects off the overpasses and on to cars below. It was very bad. At least one fatality resulted that I can recall, and of course, lots of damaged and wrecked automobiles. Let’s not have that here. Chain link is ugly, I grant you that, but there are uglier things that can happen without it. Sometimes you need a bit of ugly to stay safe.


About M.J.Deare

I am a writer, actively researching topics of interest. I am also a graduate of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, with a degree in English, and have a master's degree from the University of Memphis. Born in New Orleans, I lived there until moving to northwest Arkansas and from there to Memphis, Tennessee. My husband and I currently reside in The Woodlands, Texas.
This entry was posted in Around The Woodlands. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

