Walking the Trails in Colder Weather

Yesterday, I got out and walked Fred for about an hour, and we didn’t see one other person the whole time we were out. It was almost a little spooky. Maybe most people have better sense, but Fred was determined to go, so we had to make our usual “run” through the woods. Fred doesn’t really walk with me. He runs and pulls me behind him, which is not a lot of fun, but it’s the best I can do with him. The dog is incorrigible.

One thing that struck me while we were out is that the yard guys are still busy in the neighborhood. I could hear them mowing and blowing in yards as we walked along. How odd. Here it is, January, and yet, the lawns here still need maintenance. It sure beats shoveling snow, however, which is what my friends farther north have been doing.

When we got home from our walk, I made a big pot of white chili — you know, chicken, white beans, etc., and we had a good lunch. Regular chili is still my favorite, but white chili is okay occasionally. Now, if we’d only had the chimney cleaned, we could have enjoyed a nice fire while we ate. Maybe this time next year… Someone please remind me to find a chimney sweep this summer. Thank you.


About M.J.Deare

I am a writer, actively researching topics of interest. I am also a graduate of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, with a degree in English, and have a master's degree from the University of Memphis. Born in New Orleans, I lived there until moving to northwest Arkansas and from there to Memphis, Tennessee. My husband and I currently reside in The Woodlands, Texas.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

