The “Box Oak” Mystery Has Been Solved

Well, by golly, one is never too ol to learn something new. Remember that I asked for input on the Box Oak tree because it didn’t turn up at all in my searches? Well, maybe the whole, wide world already knew this except me, but the term Box Oak refers to any type of oak wood sawn into thinner boards to build — what else? Boxes, of course.

It makes perfect sense that terms such as this would be used because we’re right here where a sawmill used to be. Thank you, sharp-eyed reader, for educating us with your helpful comment. This just illustrates how our area is indeed full of the history and the heritage of The Woodlands, perhaps more so than any of the other villages, but I’d have to do some research to be certain of that. (Don’t want to make any rash statements here.)


About M.J.Deare

I am a writer, actively researching topics of interest. I am also a graduate of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, with a degree in English, and have a master's degree from the University of Memphis. Born in New Orleans, I lived there until moving to northwest Arkansas and from there to Memphis, Tennessee. My husband and I currently reside in The Woodlands, Texas.
This entry was posted in Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

