Made In The U.S.A.

Okay, I found a product actually manufactured here while I was wandering around Bed Bath and Beyond the other day. They’re baking pans, cookie sheets, etc., made by USA Pan in Crescent, Pennsylvania. They’re coated with a clear, non-stick environmentally friendly silicone that doesn’t contain PTFE or PFOA, (whatever the heck those are). I bought a cake pan to try it out and used it the other night. Perfect! The pan is heavier than the cheap ones. It’s made with 65% recycled steel, and it’s got a rippled bottom that allows for better air circulation while baking.  I’ll go back and buy more of their bake ware. Ours are old and rusty and worn out anyway. We’ve been needing new stuff for a while.

While we’re on the subject of Made in the U.S.A., I got an email the other day entitled, “One Lightbulb at a Time.” The rant was all about buying products made in the US, but one of the statements in the email was that Colgate Toothpaste is made in Mexico, while Crest is made here. Well, it just so happens that I had an unopened box of Colgate, and an unopened box of Crest, so I went and got those and checked out the origin of each. Colgate has MADE IN USA in bold print on it. Can’t miss it. The Crest box has , “Distributed by Proctor and Gamble, Cincinnati, OH” on it.

I checked Snopes to see if the email had been reported as a hoax, but I couldn’t find anything, so maybe this is a new one. All of this is just to say, don’t believe everything you read. Unless Colgate is telling a big fib, their toothpaste is made here at home. Can’t say for sure where Crest is actually manufactured, but it has a US patent on it.


About M.J.Deare

I am a writer, actively researching topics of interest. I am also a graduate of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, with a degree in English, and have a master's degree from the University of Memphis. Born in New Orleans, I lived there until moving to northwest Arkansas and from there to Memphis, Tennessee. My husband and I currently reside in The Woodlands, Texas.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

