Thoughts of Spring

Even though we’re still in the midst of winter, the warm weather they’re predicting for this week; (will the weather-people be right this time?), has me thinking about what we want to plant in the yard this spring.

This year I want to put some tropical-type plants in pots on the patio, and I’ve been considering planting a banana tree or two in some rather large containers. From what I’ve read, they’ll grow just fine with plenty of water and fertilizer. Well naturally, most plants grow well with water and fertilizer and sunlight. The spot I’m thinking of would be in the sun most of the day, so I’m not sure if they’ll do well there. It gets awfully hot in the afternoon.

http://msucares.com/news/print/sgnews/sg06/sg060824.html

I was wondering if any of you had tried growing banana plants in containers and what sort of success you did or didn’t have. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. I really do want to give this a try. Thanks!


About M.J.Deare

I am a writer, actively researching topics of interest. I am also a graduate of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, with a degree in English, and have a master's degree from the University of Memphis. Born in New Orleans, I lived there until moving to northwest Arkansas and from there to Memphis, Tennessee. My husband and I currently reside in The Woodlands, Texas.
This entry was posted in Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thoughts of Spring

  1. Bananas in pots seem to go hand in hand for me. They do really well with moisture control miracle grow potting soil. My friend says to make sure at the end of year to hand them upside down to drain all the water out and leave them in a basement or garage. I even got fruit on one of them a few years ago; i usually get sterile trees. šŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much for your input. What a novel idea to hang them upside down to get all of the water out. Do you have your banana plants in full sun or partial shade? It sounds as though you bring yours inside during the winter. Will they die, or just die back if they’re left outside?
      I can’t wait to get mine planted! Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

