Got Snakes?

We do, and I’ve heard a tale or two about encounters with them from some of the neighbors, so it seems we have a lot of them around here. I’ve come across a few out on the trail as well; almost stepped on one once, and almost wrecked my bike to keep from rolling over another one, so I’m giving serious consideration to attending this lecture. It’s part of a “Walk in the Woods Nature Lecture Series” held at McCullough Junior High, 3800 Panther Creek Drive. It will start at 7:00 p.m. on Thursday, January 27th. “Identifying Backyard Snakes” is the name of it, but I’m assuming it will help when you’re out on the trails too! It’s designed to help us learn recognizable traits that are easily recalled during a surprise encounter.

I like that. When I come across a snake, large or small, I always have to Google the description of it to determine what it was. I think I’d know a rattlesnake if I saw one, but there are so many others around, and a lot of them are beneficial to us. We don’t want to get out the hoe and chop up a good one, now, do we?

If any of you are interested in attending this lecture with me, please let me know. It sounds like fun. Thanks!


About M.J.Deare

I am a writer, actively researching topics of interest. I am also a graduate of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, with a degree in English, and have a master's degree from the University of Memphis. Born in New Orleans, I lived there until moving to northwest Arkansas and from there to Memphis, Tennessee. My husband and I currently reside in The Woodlands, Texas.
This entry was posted in Around The Woodlands. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

