Are You A Litter-Getter?

For some strange reason, people must feel compelled — compelled, I say, to roll down their window(s) and throw out their trash when they stop on Acorn Oak to turn onto South Millbend. I walk Fred that way pretty often, and the trash really piles up right there. Usually I have a plastic bag with me, and if it isn’t full of the unmentionable substance, I’ll stoop down and pick up some of the big pieces before Fred insists that we move along. Fred isn’t big on waiting around. He’s got places to go!

Someone else is picking up trash along Acorn Oak. A neighbor mentioned a name to me, and now I can’t recall it. Whoever you are, thank you. You’re helping to keep the neighborhood up, and I, for one, appreciate your efforts! I’m sure others do too. Every little bit of effort helps.

The county sent a street-sweeper around not long ago, and it sure was good to see it at that corner especially, but now, of course, the litter has reappeared. It blows into the trees, or out into the street, gets run over and smashed by cars. Ugly. Unnecessary. I wish there was something we could do about it, but I guess we’ll just have to be litter-getters for now. Try taking a little plastic bag with you on your next walk. You’ll be amazed at how quickly you can fill it up. It’s good exercise too. Walk, stoop, bend. Walk, stoop, bend. Burn some calories! And it makes you feel good too.


About M.J.Deare

I am a writer, actively researching topics of interest. I am also a graduate of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, with a degree in English, and have a master's degree from the University of Memphis. Born in New Orleans, I lived there until moving to northwest Arkansas and from there to Memphis, Tennessee. My husband and I currently reside in The Woodlands, Texas.
This entry was posted in Around The Woodlands and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

