Trekking on the Trail Yesterday

With a break in the clouds and warmer temperatures yesterday afternoon, it was time to take Fred out for his run, which, of course, made him very happy. While we were out and about, we ran into so many neighbors, some with their dogs, we haven’t seen all winter. It was almost like a neighborhood reunion. It was great to chat for a while and catch up on the news, and Fred got to sniff all the friendly pooches who came along. He was in heaven.

Whenever I’m out on the trail by myself with Fred, I usually always have my trekking pole with me, and a couple of people asked me about it yesterday. It’s a great self-defense mechanism that has come in handy twice already. I’m not talking about self-defense against other people, but other dogs out there. Not long after we moved in, Fred and I came across a Doberman along the trail who was all alone. No collar. No owner. Nothing. He started toward us in a not-so-friendly-way, but he changed his mind when I started waving the trekking pole in his direction. He backed off, and Fred and I made a U-turn to avoid getting any closer. The dog didn’t follow us. Whew!

My second encounter was with a big dog running loose on Sawmill Road. He took a particular interest in Fred, but his hackles were raised, and his tail wasn’t wagging at all, so this wasn’t going to be a friendly encounter. A bike rider stopped and tried to help me get the big dog to back off, but he wasn’t paying attention to her at all.  He had his eyes locked on Fred. The good thing was that the dog wouldn’t come near enough to be struck by the trekking pole. He kept his distance even though he followed us nearly all the way home. The bike rider called after us, “You’ll be okay. He’s afraid of that stick!” Thank goodness she was right. I would never want to strike a dog, but if worse came to worst, I guess I’d have to do it.

So, when you see me out there walking one of the Bassetts, I’ll more than likely have my trekking pole with me. Gotta keep those puppies safe you know.


About M.J.Deare

I am a writer, actively researching topics of interest. I am also a graduate of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, with a degree in English, and have a master's degree from the University of Memphis. Born in New Orleans, I lived there until moving to northwest Arkansas and from there to Memphis, Tennessee. My husband and I currently reside in The Woodlands, Texas.
This entry was posted in Pets and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

