Encounters with The Wild Kingdom Along the Trail

Yesterday afternoon, I walked Fred along the trail between Acorn Oak and South Millbend. Beautiful day. As soon as we got on the trail, I spotted a beautiful yellow butterfly flitting around. It’s pretty neat to see a butterfly in January. You don’t see them farther north this time of the year.

A little while later, after we passed the two bridges, I spotted an armadillo in someone’s back yard. An armadillo! No kidding. A living, breathing armadillo.

I stopped in my tracks and watched him root around for a while. I’m pretty sure this is the first living armadillo I’ve ever seen in my life. Oh, I can hear you native Texans chuckling at this, but it’s the truth. I was absolutely amazed to see him. Thunderstruck.

I looked for him again when we returned on the same route, but he was gone. Every time we go that way, I’ll probably look for him though. It’s something I won’t forget to do.


About M.J.Deare

I am a writer, actively researching topics of interest. I am also a graduate of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, with a degree in English, and have a master's degree from the University of Memphis. Born in New Orleans, I lived there until moving to northwest Arkansas and from there to Memphis, Tennessee. My husband and I currently reside in The Woodlands, Texas.
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

