When the Dogs Get Wet

You know how that goes when it’s raining outside. You have to let the dogs out, and they don’t tarry long, so a few minutes later, you’re working on them with the towels. “Stand still!” “No, do NOT shake!” Then it seems just minutes later, they want to go outside again. Get the towels ready. Open the door. Repeat.

The next obvious problem is the wet-dog smell. No matter how dry you get them, they’re never dry enough to eliminate that familiar odor. Pretty soon, the whole house is smelling like something akin to a kennel. Great. Bring on the Febreeze.

Yesterday, I was ruminating about this problem when I happened to read Ken Hoffman’s column in “The Houston Chronicle” about Texas Triple Scent Candles. It seems he’s something of a conoisseur of fine candles, and he loves these for their particularly pleasant and strong scents. So I went to their website: http://www.triplescented.com and ordered just one to try it out.

Come to find out, they offer over 1,000 different scents in every imaginable variety of candle shape and size. And, according to Hoffman’s article, they put 2.5 ounces of scented oil in each 16 ounces of wax, which is more than triple the amount in the average candle.

Maggies at Market Street http://www.maggies.com offers some great-smelling candles too. I especially enjoy Maggies’ Special Blend, but I thought I’d try Texas Triple Scent to compare them. I ordered the gardenia scent, as it appears none of my gardenia bushes made it. At least the candle will be a whiff of what might-have-been. I’ll keep you posted.


About M.J.Deare

I am a writer, actively researching topics of interest. I am also a graduate of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, with a degree in English, and have a master's degree from the University of Memphis. Born in New Orleans, I lived there until moving to northwest Arkansas and from there to Memphis, Tennessee. My husband and I currently reside in The Woodlands, Texas.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

