Clear Skies Make for Good Stargazing

I was outside in the back yard with the dogs last night and was pleasantly surprised to see Orion’s belt shining overhead. The sky was as clear as could be, and beautiful as ever.

The very bright star to the left of the crescent moon is actually Jupiter, which showed off its red spot last night. If I would have had my telescope out, I could have seen it. Of course, that bright morning star is the planet Venus. Still amazingly bright and beautiful. In the minutes just before morning, Venus is so bright and so low in the sky that it really does appear to be moving. Pretty spectacular.  http://earthsky.org/tonight

Jupiter's position relative to the moon

Venus just before dawn


About M.J.Deare

I am a writer, actively researching topics of interest. I am also a graduate of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, with a degree in English, and have a master's degree from the University of Memphis. Born in New Orleans, I lived there until moving to northwest Arkansas and from there to Memphis, Tennessee. My husband and I currently reside in The Woodlands, Texas.
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

