Talk About Brand Loyalty

I received this in an email and checked in out on Snopes. It seems it’s legitimate, and if so, it’s pretty amazing that anyone could keep a car this long.

“Mr. Allen Swift (Springfield , MA.) received this 1928 Rolls-Royce Picadilly P1 Roadster from his father, brand new – as a graduation gift in 1928.

He drove it up until his death last year…  at the  age of 102. He was the oldest living owner (ever) of a car purhased new. It was donated it to a Springfield  museum after his death.

It has 170,000 miles on it,  still runs like a Swiss watch, dead silent at any speed and is in perfect cosmetic condition… (82 years). That’s approximately 2000 miles per year.

 

The very old guy and his very old Rolls.

You know, I have to say that if my father had given me a Rolls Royce when I graduated from college, I’d probably still be driving it too.


About M.J.Deare

I am a writer, actively researching topics of interest. I am also a graduate of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, with a degree in English, and have a master's degree from the University of Memphis. Born in New Orleans, I lived there until moving to northwest Arkansas and from there to Memphis, Tennessee. My husband and I currently reside in The Woodlands, Texas.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

