We’re Still Pumping Iron

Jim and I are still working out with our trainer, Vince, at Fitness Connection, and he’s working us hard. Yesterday, I joked with him that some days we work out with him in the morning, and that’s pretty much it for the day because we’re both whipped. He laughed at that. Yesterday we had a good (butt-kicking) workout, but oddly enough, we both had a lot more energy the rest of the day. I guess we’re getting used to it now, and it isn’t quite so exhausting.

I just read a good article on the many benefits of pumping iron, even if you’re not an athlete. Just doing cardio isn’t the way to go, it seems. You really need to do resistance training to get the full benefit of working out, and the benefits are actually pretty substantial. Read the article if you get a chance. It’s quite an eye-opener.

http://articles.latimes.com/2011/feb/13/health/la-he-adv-strength-training-20110213


About M.J.Deare

I am a writer, actively researching topics of interest. I am also a graduate of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, with a degree in English, and have a master's degree from the University of Memphis. Born in New Orleans, I lived there until moving to northwest Arkansas and from there to Memphis, Tennessee. My husband and I currently reside in The Woodlands, Texas.
This entry was posted in Fitness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

