Navigating the Candy Aisle(s)

We worked out with our trainer yesterday morning and burned off a few calories, no doubt. When we got home, I showered, changed, grabbed a bite to eat, and took off to run some errands and do a little shopping.

Easter Sunday is April 4th, but beware! Easter candy is already lurking in the aisles everywhere you go. I was still hungry when I started my shopping rounds, and it was all I could do to avoid the Cadbury Eggs right in front of my face at the checkout counter. I literally had to make a U-turn to avoid a long aisle filled with candy from top to bottom at another store. Closed my eyes as I rounded a corner with a big display. Looked down at the floor to avoid the chocolate bunnies. Everywhere you go, the retailers are hawking their candy. Eat this America! You’re not overweight enough yet!  Triglycerides, anyone? The dentists of America need you! On and on. It’s just crazy…

So, if you’re trying to lose weight, my advice is this: fill up, and I do mean FILL UP, on whatever good thing you’re trying to eat, be it fruits or veggies, or whatever, just be sure to fill up before you get out there. Take a small mint or two with you if your mouth starts watering for something sweet. And shop fast! Get in and get out! If you’re stuck in a line to check out, text someone, or just chat on the phone, talk to the lady behind you,  do anything to get your mind off the goodies on display. They’re out to get us folks. Don’t let ’em win.


About M.J.Deare

I am a writer, actively researching topics of interest. I am also a graduate of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, with a degree in English, and have a master's degree from the University of Memphis. Born in New Orleans, I lived there until moving to northwest Arkansas and from there to Memphis, Tennessee. My husband and I currently reside in The Woodlands, Texas.
This entry was posted in Fitness, Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

