Working in the Garden

Jim and I worked in the planting beds all afternoon yesterday. We planted, fertilized, pruned, raked, and cleaned up the beds. Then we potted a palm and some geraniums, African daisies, and carnations. Things are coming along, but it sure is a lot of work, as you well know, if you do any gardening at all.

I told Jim that having all these plants is like having 100 new children to care for. They all seem to need something different, and their futures depend on us. I’m just glad we don’t have to send them to college.

Last week, I found a new plant for the shade. It’s called “Soft Caress” Mahonia. Soft because the leaves don’t have the sharp, serrated edge of a regular mahonia. They’re supposed to do well in part to full shade and flower in early winter and are hardy to zero degrees. I thin I might go back to Home Depot’s garden center and get a few more of these. And someone suggested impatiens for the shade, and that sounded like a good idea for color. I haven’t seen any of those out yet, so maybe it’s too early.

It’s great to be out digging while it’s still cool. When we moved in and had these beds made for us last year, it was already hot, hot, hot. That sort of put a damper on our enthusiasm for digging holes, so we let someone else do it. Easier, but not as much fun.


About M.J.Deare

I am a writer, actively researching topics of interest. I am also a graduate of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, with a degree in English, and have a master's degree from the University of Memphis. Born in New Orleans, I lived there until moving to northwest Arkansas and from there to Memphis, Tennessee. My husband and I currently reside in The Woodlands, Texas.
This entry was posted in Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

