Found Impatiens at WalMart

Well, of course, WalMart has just about everything, don’t they? Probably other places have them out this week as well. Jim checked the tag on one of the plants and remarked that it wasn’t grown in China but in Oklahoma. Hooray for us! We can still grow plants and sell them locally.

Great weather for planting right now. Still really cool at night, but the days are so mild and dry that it’s a joy to get outside. I’m discovering that there is an urgency to get things in the ground here. When we bought our house last year around this time, we also bought new patio furniture because we’d left all of ours behind at the old house. I remember our real estate agent remarked that we’d better hurry up and use it before the flies and mosquitoes and heat arrived. We found out he wasn’t joking.

Same with the plants. Got to get them in the ground, fertilized, mulched, and tended-to before all of the above arrives. Some mosquitoes are already around. Yesterday, I was bitten twice, so I’ll probably be wearing my summer scent, Deep Woods Off, soon. http://www.off.com/

George and I used to joke about it a lot because he was a mosquito-magnet too. I’m going to miss sitting out on the patio and swapping jokes with him this summer. He had the quickest wit of anyone I’ve ever known.

 


About M.J.Deare

I am a writer, actively researching topics of interest. I am also a graduate of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, with a degree in English, and have a master's degree from the University of Memphis. Born in New Orleans, I lived there until moving to northwest Arkansas and from there to Memphis, Tennessee. My husband and I currently reside in The Woodlands, Texas.
This entry was posted in Around The Woodlands, Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

