Is A Phone Call So “Last Century?”

I’ve been hearing rumblings about phone calls for a while; the fact that text messages will soon surpass phone calls in numbers. I’ve also been getting word from friends back in Tennessee that they’re ditching their land lines. “Waste of money,” they say, and I tend to agree with that, but most of them still call, and quite a few haven’t gotten around to texting anyone yet. There’s also the added benefit of not getting as many sales calls. Don’t you hate getting sales calls?

There are a couple of downsides to just having a cell phone though, and I think I’ve mentioned this before. You have to have your cell phone with you at all times, and that takes some getting used to over time. I was forever leaving mine in my purse and putting the purse away. Then I wouldn’t hear it ring. Hard to stay in touch that way.

But now they’re saying that everyone is texting like crazy instead of calling. Let’s hope they’re not texting while driving. I can’t even manage to text while I’m riding. I’ve tried it a couple of times, and about all I could hit were two keys correctly. (I still miss the little buttons on my old Blackberry.) Plus, I can hardly see the screen when I’m outside. They need to work on that, do something like the Kindle with the glare issue. I can’t text while walking either. I tried that once and nearly tripped over a cat. It’s a little harder than walking and chewing gum, I don’t care what anybody says. So for now, I still have to make an occasional phone call, not as many as in the past, but just every once in a while, you do want to hear the sound of someone’s voice.

Here’s a pretty good commentary on this topic. Read it and see if think the phone call is a relic from the past. http://www.nytimes.com/2011/03/20/fashion/20Cultural.html

 

 


About M.J.Deare

I am a writer, actively researching topics of interest. I am also a graduate of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, with a degree in English, and have a master's degree from the University of Memphis. Born in New Orleans, I lived there until moving to northwest Arkansas and from there to Memphis, Tennessee. My husband and I currently reside in The Woodlands, Texas.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

