Cypress Mulch

Yesterday, Jim and I put some cypress mulch on the beds surrounding a deck where we like to spend a lot of time. I’d read that cypress mulch repels mosquitoes, so we decided to give it a try.

To tell you the truth, I don’t care for the look of it all that much. Cypress mulch is very light in color, which I find kind of jarring. I was so accustomed to the black mulch we had last year that this stuff seems sort of odd-looking. I guess the plants will cover more of it when they’ve had time to grow, and I’ll probably get used to the look of it after a while, I hope.

The nice thing about this mulch is that it seems to actually work! We sat on the deck and ate dinner last night, and I only saw one mosquito the whole time we were out there. Amazing! There had been swarms of them the night before, so this was very nice. I didn’t have to spray on the Deep Woods Off or anything. When I saw that one mosquito, which didn’t bite either of us, I lit a citronella candle, so maybe the mulch test wasn’t 100% accurate. I’m going to try it out there again this evening, this time, minus the candle. I’ll let you know how well it works. I hope the effect continues because we sure had a pleasant evening without the mosquitoes.


About M.J.Deare

I am a writer, actively researching topics of interest. I am also a graduate of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, with a degree in English, and have a master's degree from the University of Memphis. Born in New Orleans, I lived there until moving to northwest Arkansas and from there to Memphis, Tennessee. My husband and I currently reside in The Woodlands, Texas.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Miscellaneous and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

