Termite Control

Is there such a thing? I guess we don’t really control termites, we just kill them when we can. At our old house, which we purchased new, by the way, we had a “termite” contract with Terminix for many, many years. They came out and drilled holes in the foundation, poured in some sort of chemical, sealed the holes, and came back every year to inspect for termites. I usually had to call to remind them to do it, but they would come, walk around the place and pronounce it termite-free. We paid them a hundred bucks for that inspection, but it was worth it for the peace of mind.

Then one rainy April, we went out of town to attend a funeral. When we got back, termites had eaten their way through a door-jam, damaging the door in the process. We had dead termites all over the den, so we immediately called Terminix. Well, guess what? Terminix paid us the grand sum of $100 to have the door replaced. The door was one of a triple set of French doors, which cost us about $1700 to replace. We realized we’d been “had,” so we dropped Terminix and picked up another pest control company.

This time, we went with a locally owned company, and they came out, drilled more holes in the foundation and poured in another chemical. I got a little concerned about all the holes in the foundation, but I seemed to be the only one worried about it. We had no more termite swarms though, and no more sign of any termites. That one time was the first, last, and only sign of termites that we ever had. My quarrel with Terminix was that they didn’t want to pay for termite damage after we’d had their “guaranteed” service for about twenty years. I think I remember them saying that they didn’t cover swarms. Well, of course not because that’s what caused the damage. If the termites would have tunneled in, they probably would have said they didn’t cover tunneling termites either. It’s kind of like having collision coverage on a car that doesn’t cover you when you actually have a collision. Can you tell I’m not a big fan of Terminix?

Anyway, now we live here, and I’m beginning to think about termite control again. I haven’t seen any, but being the proactive sort that I am, I’m always trying to head off trouble before it comes. I came across a web site that sells termite-control chemicals, and I’m thinking we might try doing it ourselves. Have any of you ever tried that, or if not, do you have any recommendations for a really trustworthy pest control service? If so, I’d like to hear from you. Thanks!

Here’s the web site I found: http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/termiticides-c-3_74.html


About M.J.Deare

I am a writer, actively researching topics of interest. I am also a graduate of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, with a degree in English, and have a master's degree from the University of Memphis. Born in New Orleans, I lived there until moving to northwest Arkansas and from there to Memphis, Tennessee. My husband and I currently reside in The Woodlands, Texas.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

