Arborgate Nursery in Tomball, Texas

I paid my first visit to Arborgate Nursery Tuesday. Those of you who have lived here for a while are probably very familiar with it. I’ve heard about it almost from the day we moved into our house here in The Woodlands.

It’s a fun place to go, with lots and lots — and lots — of garden treasures, gee-gaws, and general garden decor all over the place. Pottery, fountains, (our next project), gifts, statuary, and, of course, plants. There is so much to look at that I could hardly take it all in at once. My daughter and I wandered around for quite a while until we both got hungry and had to leave to find a place to eat. My one suggestion for improving Arborgate would be to set up a cafe’ on-site. I’m sure they would do a lot of business. When we left, there were a lot of hungry-looking folks wandering the premises.

My main reason for going was to look for banana plants. We were told that they had already sold out of their “ice cream” banana plants, but they were expecting more to come in any day. I had to look up “ice cream” banana plants. It appears they’re cold-hardy and produce bananas that taste like vanilla ice cream. Well, doesn’t that just make you have to have one? I’m thinking I might even order mine online. I’ll keep you posted.

Ice Cream Bananas

p://green2995.stores.yahoo.net/bananaplants.html


About M.J.Deare

I am a writer, actively researching topics of interest. I am also a graduate of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, with a degree in English, and have a master's degree from the University of Memphis. Born in New Orleans, I lived there until moving to northwest Arkansas and from there to Memphis, Tennessee. My husband and I currently reside in The Woodlands, Texas.
This entry was posted in Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

