Texas Raises the Speed Limit. Will the Signs Change?

My fellow Texans, we seem to have lead feet. A bill to raise the speed limit to 75 mph, day or night, on major state highways passed in the Texas House with no opposition on Friday, 4/15/11, and is expected to pass easily in the Senate. No other state requires motorists to slow down to 65 mph at night, so this nod to safety will be rescinded by Texas when the new law takes effect. It had been rumored that they were going to bump up the limit to 85, but that was a bit too optimistic. Maybe next year.

I don’t know, maybe it’s just me, but I had the idea that all those speed limit signs were only suggestions anyway. In fact, my better half and I would be tooling along down one of those speedways in Texas, and I would often remark, “Honey, the speed suggestion here is 45,” or whatever. The speed suggestion on a stretch of I-45 which I drive frequently is 70 mph. I, being the all-around-law-abider that I am, do attempt to drive no faster than that. Meanwhile, the cars and trucks passing me on both sides rock my sport ute when they blow past. Every now and again though, I get to honk and wave at one of them while they have a little conversation with the nice police officer who’s asking for their license, registration, et al. It sort of warms my heart.

One thing that occurred to me is that when this new speed-limit law passes, all those signs saying “65 at Night” will have to be taken down. I wonder what that’s going to cost? Do you think anyone has thought of that yet? Ah, well, maybe they can just leave them the way they are now.  I doubt if anyone would even notice. They seem to be just “speed suggestions” anyway.


About M.J.Deare

I am a writer, actively researching topics of interest. I am also a graduate of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, with a degree in English, and have a master's degree from the University of Memphis. Born in New Orleans, I lived there until moving to northwest Arkansas and from there to Memphis, Tennessee. My husband and I currently reside in The Woodlands, Texas.
This entry was posted in Humor, News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

