Southern tornadoes with a map

Last week’s deadly and destructive tornadoes left me at a loss for words. I know that area of the country very well, and I have dear friends who were in harm’s way. Like many other people, I’ve been in sort of shocked disbelief that it could be so bad. I watched a little of it on the news, read a little about it online, talked to my friends on the phone, and it has been almost too horrible to think about. Unimaginable. Sort of like the Japanese earthquake and tsunami, difficult to comprehend.

This afternoon, I came across a Wall Street Journal piece about the tornadoes online, and I think they’ve done a good job of conveying information. They have an interactive map that you’ll need to scroll down to see. Be sure to click on that, and from there you can go to a slideshow, video, etc. It’s heartbreaking, but we all need to be aware of what is going on in our country right now. Droughts, fires, floods, and storms. We’ve certainly had our share of misery this year.


About M.J.Deare

I am a writer, actively researching topics of interest. I am also a graduate of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, with a degree in English, and have a master's degree from the University of Memphis. Born in New Orleans, I lived there until moving to northwest Arkansas and from there to Memphis, Tennessee. My husband and I currently reside in The Woodlands, Texas.
This entry was posted in Nature, News and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

