Helena-West Helena, Arkansas, Prepare for Flooding

Fortunately for the residents of Helena and West Helena, Arkansas, there is a floodgate to keep the Mississippi River from inundating the towns. Work is in progress right now to get that floodgate in place before the river crests this Thursday, May 12.

Photo from The Daily World, HelenaArkansas.com

Be sure to read Randy Hogan’s article in The Daily World, “The floodgates go up.” Time and time again, as I’ve read about the flooding along the Mississippi River, and as I’ve spoken to my friends in the area, I keep hearing the word “historic.” According to Hogan’s article, it seems the river may well and truly surpass the high water marks of the 1927 and 1937 floods. I’ve heard speculation that the river might get to the same height as it did during those historic floods, but I think this is the first time I’ve read that the river might go higher this time.

The folks in Helena-West Helena are working in feverish cooperation to ready the flood gates in time. Even the Boy Scouts are pitching in to help. When I read this, somehow I felt very proud. This is America. This is truly who we are. When the going gets tough… well, you know the rest. Good luck, folks in Arkansas. Here’s hoping you stay high and dry.


About M.J.Deare

I am a writer, actively researching topics of interest. I am also a graduate of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, with a degree in English, and have a master's degree from the University of Memphis. Born in New Orleans, I lived there until moving to northwest Arkansas and from there to Memphis, Tennessee. My husband and I currently reside in The Woodlands, Texas.
This entry was posted in Nature, News and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

