Morganza Spillway is open, but some people refuse to evacuate

Here’s an interesting article about people who are quite likely to be flooded by the water coming through the spillway, but they are still refusing to leave their homes. This tells us a little something about human nature I think. Sometimes just the thought of losing everything you own and everything you have worked for all your life can make you a little crazy. I can attest to that.

When I was a kid, my family was under an evacuation order. We lived near Lake Pontchartrain in New Orleans, and there was a real danger of being flooded. My mother packed a few things and got ready to leave, just as all the other neighbors were doing, but my father refused to leave.  I can remember how calm he was. “We’re not going anywhere,” he announced.

As you can imagine, this didn’t sit too well with my mother, so we kids got a ringside seat for the battle royal, but my father wasn’t budging. When I think back on it, it was so odd. Surely he didn’t want all of us to drown or anything. I believe he feared looters more than anything though, and just couldn’t stand the idea of people carting his stuff away while we were gone.

The battle between my parents ended when a sheriff’s deputy came to the door and told my dad in no uncertain terms that he was to get us out of there. So he did, but reluctantly. We spent the night with an aunt and uncle whose house was elevated, but we had to walk through water waist-deep, in the dark, to get to their front door. Ah, nothing like waiting until the last minute to evacuate. The water hadn’t come up around them until nightfall.

At any rate, Dad was right about the looters. They came. They took. They conquered. It was pretty sickening, but at least the house didn’t flood. We would have been safe where we were, but of course, no one knew that at the time.

It seems some of the people in the Morganza floodway are willing to take their chances, but it’s probably not a good idea. Just go, folks. Your stuff isn’t as important as your life.

Here’s the article from the Daily World, “Water Creeps Closer in Krotz Springs.”


About M.J.Deare

I am a writer, actively researching topics of interest. I am also a graduate of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, with a degree in English, and have a master's degree from the University of Memphis. Born in New Orleans, I lived there until moving to northwest Arkansas and from there to Memphis, Tennessee. My husband and I currently reside in The Woodlands, Texas.
This entry was posted in Nature, News and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

