Memphis dodges the tornado bullet, but West Memphis has damage

Yesterday was pretty scary for my friends in Memphis, Tennessee. The tornado sirens went off all over Shelby County when a strong storm blew through, and there were power outages to about 14,000 homes in the city and county. The weather forecasters came on live before the it hit to give warnings and keep people informed about the storm track. There were areas of rotation noted in many places, and people called in to say they were seeing funnel clouds, but apparently, none touched down in Shelby County. Thank goodness.

Here’s a photo from WMC-TV, Channel 5 in Memphis. They’re still reporting on the storm this morning. My Memphis friends said that there were strong winds all day long, even before the storm hit, and as it approached, the lightning was pretty horrific. Memphians were justifiably nervous about the whole situation. My friends said that the suburb of Bartlett had opened emergency tornado shelter in the basement of a senior center for the first time, and at least 75 people took refuge there before the storm hit.

West Memphis, Arkansas, on the west side of the Mississippi River did have wind damage to several businesses, and it seemed to be pretty extensive.  I found a photo of the storm crossing the Mississippi River on a news station blog out of Portland, Oregon, of all places. It’s an amazing photo, and I want you to see it. Check out KATU.com. I’ll try to have some photos of the damage in West Memphis for you later on today.

Oh, and I almost forgot to mention that the Oprah Winfrey show will be re-broadcast in its entirety today by Channel 5. The show was interrupted yesterday for the weather warnings. (Don’t you just know that the station got lot of calls about that situation!)


About M.J.Deare

I am a writer, actively researching topics of interest. I am also a graduate of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, with a degree in English, and have a master's degree from the University of Memphis. Born in New Orleans, I lived there until moving to northwest Arkansas and from there to Memphis, Tennessee. My husband and I currently reside in The Woodlands, Texas.
This entry was posted in Nature, News and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Memphis dodges the tornado bullet, but West Memphis has damage

  1. With havin so much written content do you ever run into any issues of plagorism or copyright violation? My site has a lot of exclusive content I’ve either written myself or outsourced but it appears a lot of it is popping it up all over the web without my authorization. Do you know any ways to help stop content from being ripped off? I’d definitely appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

