Joplin Tornado Cleanup: Gawkers Causing Problems. Video

I saw this segment on CNN this morning, and I felt compelled to put in my two-cents’ worth. Listen, people, please do not go to Joplin, Missouri, unless you’re going there to help. How would like it if your home was destroyed, and maybe even some of your loved ones and/or pets were killed, and here comes a bunch of “lookie-loos” taking pictures of your misery? It’s pretty rude, to say the least. Think about it.

This happened after the flooding from Hurricane Katrina subsided too. Some people I knew in Memphis started talking to me about going down to New Orleans to look at the damage and asked me the best places to go, etc., and I stopped them short. “Do NOT go there,” I said. “It’s cruel to ride around taking pictures at a time like this. Over a thousand people died there. Do NOT go.” I couldn’t say it strongly enough. They didn’t go.

Every now and then we need to stop and think about the human toll behind these events. They’re very real and very painful. Lives will never be the same, and many people will never be able to put the tragedy behind them. We do not need to be driving around, gawking and taking photo after photo of their misery.

If you just have to go, find out how you can help first. Then get your car out of the way so that people who are trying to do something constructive can get where they’re going. There are plenty of pictures online and on TV. You don’t need to go and add to the problems these folks are facing. Have a heart.


About M.J.Deare

I am a writer, actively researching topics of interest. I am also a graduate of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, with a degree in English, and have a master's degree from the University of Memphis. Born in New Orleans, I lived there until moving to northwest Arkansas and from there to Memphis, Tennessee. My husband and I currently reside in The Woodlands, Texas.
This entry was posted in Nature, News and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

