A Baby Blue Jay Blown From His Nest

This little Blue Jay was evidently blown out of his nest by the high winds yesterday. I was surprised to find him when I went outside to put a second coat of paint on a fence section I had propped up next to the mulch pile. He seemed quite calm until I got too close, and then he let out quite a lot of loud squawking.

I kept an eye on him from the house while I Googled “how to care for a baby bird blown from nest.” I found information that said to leave the bird alone as long as its parents were around. They would still feed the baby, even if it had been touched by a human, (which I hadn’t done), but the info I read said that the parents would feed the baby as long as humans weren’t around to scare them off. It didn’t matter if they had been touched by a human.

He’s still out there today, sitting on a fence post now, which shows that he’s almost able to fly. His parents are fluttering around, good parents that they are, so I’ve left him alone. He seems alert, so we’re hoping he will be strong enough to fly soon.

Meanwhile, I have the cats put up, and I’m keeping an eye out for hawks. I’m sure the Blue Jay parents are too. Here’s hoping the little one survives and thrives.


About M.J.Deare

I am a writer, actively researching topics of interest. I am also a graduate of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, with a degree in English, and have a master's degree from the University of Memphis. Born in New Orleans, I lived there until moving to northwest Arkansas and from there to Memphis, Tennessee. My husband and I currently reside in The Woodlands, Texas.
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Baby Blue Jay Blown From His Nest

  1. Actually, it might not be a baby blue jay blown from it’s nest. Once I thought almost the same thing, but when I called the local Wildlife Center, they said it was just a fledgling, and it was supposed to be out of its nest–learning to fly. That looks like a fledgling there.
    I saw two blue jay fledglings the other day!

  2. Mo Co Mag says:

    I recently found your page last week and found it refreshing. I have passed it on, as recommended reading, to our fb page readers:

    http://www.facebook.com/pages/Montgomery-County-Texas-Yard-and-Garden-Magazine/146815285391555

    • M.J.Deare says:

      Thank you so much. I appreciate your sharing the blog with your fb page readers. How nice!
      And aren’t we all delighted with the recent rain? Here’s hoping we get much more — and soon.

Leave a Reply

