Bird of Paradise in Bloom

I bought this Bird of Paradise plant at Lowe’s early this spring and planted it in a great big pot out on the deck. I guess it’s happy here because it produced this beautiful bloom yesterday.

It’s quite striking, isn’t it? The plant gets quite a lot of morning sun, being on the southeast side of the house, and it’s in the shade in the afternoon. I’ve got it planted in a really large pot. I used Osmocote fertilizer pellets when I planted it in Miracle-Gro Moisture Control potting soil. Since it has been so very hot and dry lately, we give it some water every day. The plant seems to be thriving, so I guess we’re doing the right thing for it, or maybe they’re just easy to grow.

We’ll have to wheel it inside this winter and find a place for it when we have a freeze. I do know that they die back in freezing weather. Meanwhile, I’m just going to enjoy this spectacular bloom. I had no idea they were so colorful.


About M.J.Deare

I am a writer, actively researching topics of interest. I am also a graduate of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, with a degree in English, and have a master's degree from the University of Memphis. Born in New Orleans, I lived there until moving to northwest Arkansas and from there to Memphis, Tennessee. My husband and I currently reside in The Woodlands, Texas.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Nature and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

