Texas Drought Hits Home: Photos

The drought just seems to go on and on. In the Houston, Texas, area, we normally receive a little over 21 inches of rain between January and June, but this year, we’ve only gotten 7.07 inches. It’s beginning to take a toll on the plants and animals around here.

We’ve noticed that deer are coming out of the woods in the mornings and evenings to look for water, so most people in our neighborhood are filling their bird-baths at night, or living out pails of water for them. I would imagine that a squirrel, a skunk, and a opossum or two, welcome the water as well.

I walk my dogs along the paved trail near our home a couple of times a day, and the changes I’ve noticed have been startling. Last spring, the areas pictured below were lush and green. This year is another story. I can only imagine what the farmers around here are thinking. It must be pretty discouraging for them.

We have voluntary watering restrictions right now, but if the drought continues, they’ll probably become mandatory. Also, certain kinds of fireworks are banned for the Fourth of July. It would be kind of crazy to set off any fireworks at all, if you ask me, but I know the fireworks people are trying to make a living.

Here are some photos of our area. What is June like where you are? Send me a picture, and tell me where you are. I’ll post them on the blog. Hope you’re getting just the right amount of rain where you live.

An area along the trail that is normally green.

Any grass that isn't watered looks like this.

This drainage ditch has been bone-dry all spring.

This warning sign is flapping in the hot breeze. It's been posted for quite a while now.

If it is green, it looks wilted.

All we can do at this point I guess is conserve water, be careful with fire, and pray for rain. Mother Nature is going to have her way.


About M.J.Deare

I am a writer, actively researching topics of interest. I am also a graduate of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, with a degree in English, and have a master's degree from the University of Memphis. Born in New Orleans, I lived there until moving to northwest Arkansas and from there to Memphis, Tennessee. My husband and I currently reside in The Woodlands, Texas.
This entry was posted in Nature, News and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Texas Drought Hits Home: Photos

  1. Pingback: Pray For Mother Nature

Leave a Reply

