The asteroid that came close but didn’t hit the earth today

Several years ago, when I lived in Memphis, Tennessee, and was a member of the Memphis Archeological and Geological Society, (and yes, I’m aware of the fact that I’m a total nerd, but hey, nerds rule)… but as I was saying, I was a member, and a wonderful astronomer, whose name escapes me at the moment, came to talk to our group about NEO’s. Until that evening, I’d never heard of NEO’s, but come to find out there are thousands of them out there, lurking in the darkness, swooping around our little planet, just waiting to pounce on us, unawares. They’re “Near Earth Objects.”

After the gifted astronomer gave his talk that night, I went home and found that I couldn’t sleep! Here is my bit of sage advice to you. Don’t ever attend any lecture on “Near Earth Objects.” There are things that it’s just better not to know.

Well, this afternoon, we had a close pass from one of these babies. Really close, as space distances go. Here’s a little graphic for you.

This was just a little guy, between 16 and 65 feet wide. It would have burned up in the earth’s atmosphere, more than likely, if it would have strayed too close. These little ones make a close pass every six years or so. This one will be useful for study purposes. For more detailed info on this asteroid, dubbed 2011MD, see Universe Today.

At any rate, I’m glad it wasn’t any bigger and didn’t make an impact somewhere. We’ve had quite enough drama from the sky lately.


About M.J.Deare

I am a writer, actively researching topics of interest. I am also a graduate of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, with a degree in English, and have a master's degree from the University of Memphis. Born in New Orleans, I lived there until moving to northwest Arkansas and from there to Memphis, Tennessee. My husband and I currently reside in The Woodlands, Texas.
This entry was posted in Nature, News and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

