Texas Wildfires: Food Trucks are the Unsung Helpers

In today’s Houston Chronicle, a letter written by Amy Buehrer of Houston caught my attention. She pointed out that many local food trucks and chefs had made the trek out to the wildfire areas this week to be “at the heart of the battle” as she put it, to serve their food, many at their own expense. She noted that the food-truck owners sacrificed income to bear the cost out of their own pockets, and she offered her heartfelt thanks to them.

My hat is off to them too, Amy. I wish I could find your letter on the Houston Chronicle’s web site today. I’d provide a link so people could read your letter in its entirety. This was a very nice thing for food-truck owners to do. I wish we had some names and/or photos. I’ll bet everyone on the front lines was extremely happy to see these food-trucks arrive.

It got me to thinking that if FEMA doesn’t already have food-trucks, maybe it’s something they should think about. I know the Red Cross provides coffee, water, and snacks to disaster victims where needed, but I’m sure they would welcome additional resources on the scene.

Does anyone know if FEMA has food-trucks that they can mobilize quickly to disaster sites? With all of the fires in Texas, and many of them in remote areas, it must be terribly difficult to keep the firefighters fed and hydrated safely. And what about other firefighter needs? How about trucks filled with socks, boots, eye drops, dust masks, bandanas, nose spray, toilet paper, and all of those other miscellaneous needs that would be so welcome? Nearby communities have been doing what they can, but many of the communities are small and are dealing with the effects of the fires themselves. Must be difficult to find resources for more than 500 firefighters on the scene.

Maybe it’s just me, but I think we’re asking an awful lot of people who volunteer in many cases. We’re asking them to fight fires around the clock in extremely hot and dangerous conditions, and yet they have to ask for toilet paper? I think we can do better. Think what it would be like if no one fought the fires. On second thought, don’t think about that. It’s too scary.

What about it, FEMA? Can’t we get some equipment-trucks as well as some food-trucks out there to help? The firefighters need it, and they certainly deserve it.


About M.J.Deare

I am a writer, actively researching topics of interest. I am also a graduate of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, with a degree in English, and have a master's degree from the University of Memphis. Born in New Orleans, I lived there until moving to northwest Arkansas and from there to Memphis, Tennessee. My husband and I currently reside in The Woodlands, Texas.
This entry was posted in Nature, News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

