Texas Wildfires: Houston Fire in George Bush Park-Video

This is evidently a flare-up of a fire that began yesterday. This park is in west Houston. The winds have kicked up a bit this afternoon, and the smoke from this fire can be seen from downtown. The assistant Fire Chief said the fire yesterday and the flare-up today both started near the road and could be a result of a discarded cigarette. Click on the link to see the video.  ABC13.com  Update: Click2Houston.com  The winds have picked up, and parts of HWY 6 from Westheimer to I-10 are closed.

 

 


About M.J.Deare

I am a writer, actively researching topics of interest. I am also a graduate of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, with a degree in English, and have a master's degree from the University of Memphis. Born in New Orleans, I lived there until moving to northwest Arkansas and from there to Memphis, Tennessee. My husband and I currently reside in The Woodlands, Texas.
This entry was posted in Nature, News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Texas Wildfires: Houston Fire in George Bush Park-Video

  1. Elisa Michelle says:

    Thanks for the post. The Houston Chronicle didn’t seem too concerned by it, as the post about it was really small. They said it’s moving north, northeast with the wind. I’m worried because I’m on the southwest side of Houston. But they should get it contained quickly, right?

    • M.J.Deare says:

      Yes, it appears they will be able to contain this fire pretty well because there is a road and a levee surrounding the fire. There is a lot of equipment, choppers, and firefighters on the scene. Be careful anyway. We all have to be careful right now.

  2. Do you have a Facebook page or Twitter? Would love to follow you there, I’m on my iPhone and love reading your stuff!

    • M.J.Deare says:

      Thanks so much. I do have both, but I almost never “Tweet,” and my fb page is sort of a separate world. I really haven’t made use of fb to publicize the blog in any way. The blog is sort of a thing unto itself at present, although I may change that one of these days.
      Thank you for your comment and question. I appreciate your taking the time to write.

Leave a Reply

