Morganza Spillway: Video from U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

Here’s an informative video from the Corps of Engineers which explains a bit about the structure and purpose of the Morganza Spillway for those of you who aren’t familiar with it. What they don’t say in this video is that thousands of people live in the floodway itself, nor is there a mention of Morgan City, which will be protected only if its levees hold. Let’s all hope that they do. The spillway will probably be opened bit by bit today.

About M.J.Deare

I am a writer, actively researching topics of interest. I am also a graduate of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, with a degree in English, and have a master's degree from the University of Memphis. Born in New Orleans, I lived there until moving to northwest Arkansas and from there to Memphis, Tennessee. My husband and I currently reside in The Woodlands, Texas.
This entry was posted in Nature, News and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment