Texas Wildfires: Montgomery County Burn Map

I’m not sure where they got it, but Click2Houston.com has a large, detailed map showing the area of Montgomery County that was burned yesterday and today. The map also shows street names and numbers, many of which you will recognize if you’ve lived around here for a while. Here is the link to the map for you: Click2Houston.com.

Magnolia Schools are closed again tomorrow. This fire broke out in a populated area. We have the firefighters to thank that even more structures and/or lives were not lost.

About M.J.Deare

I am a writer, actively researching topics of interest. I am also a graduate of the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, with a degree in English, and have a master's degree from the University of Memphis. Born in New Orleans, I lived there until moving to northwest Arkansas and from there to Memphis, Tennessee. My husband and I currently reside in The Woodlands, Texas.
This entry was posted in Nature, News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Texas Wildfires: Montgomery County Burn Map

  1. Tiffany says:

    Thank you VERY much M.J. for posting this map, it’s afforded me some situational clarity! I live in Southern California, and while I’m used to being the one in the wildfire “situation”, helping my mother (she lives in The Woodlands area off of 1488 & 2978) manage her prevention/evac plan remotely has been challenging. I hope you and your loved ones are safe. My thoughts and prayers go to all those affected. To the brave men and women who fight these fires for us, thank you~

    • M.J.Deare says:

      You’re very welcome. Your mother and I are practically neighbors! Believe me when I say that everyone is being very cautious and hyper-alert in this situation. We’ve actually had a few grass fires in and near The Woodlands, but they never did get of hand and were put out quickly — by those brave souls you mentioned who fight fires for us. We’re all hoping and praying that Tropical Storm Nate will drift our way and give us some rain, but it doesn’t seem likely at this point. Stay safe where you are. I’ll try my best to post up-to-date info until this fire danger is past.
      Thank you for taking the time to comment!

  2. anne miller says:

    has montgomery the town been affected by the fire???

    • M.J.Deare says:

      No it hasn’t. Montgomery, the town, is northeast of the affected area, and the winds have been blowing from the north, moving the fire even farther away from Montgomery. Thanks for asking about this. I’ve been searching for some online town maps of Texas to get a better handle on fire positions, but they aren’t easy to find. I’ll keep searching though.

  3. janie smith says:

    Thank you for this map and the information. I live in Montgomery and today it is so smokey we cannot really go outside. The air is heavy with smoke and the smell is awful. Prayers for the firefighters and the people whose homes and land and animals have been affected.
    janie smith

    • M.J.Deare says:

      Yes, prayers for everyone in harm’s way. Thank you for the information about the smoke in Montgomery. We can smell it a bit in The Woodlands, but I think most of it is blowing south of the big Magnolia fire. The smoke is a worry; so unhealthy to breathe, especially for the elderly and folks with breathing problems.
      Here’s hoping that the use of the DC-10 today will help get this fire under control and put out for good.

  4. Seyiris says:

    Thank you for posting this. Not only are you kind but you are also reassuring and that just means so much to us. Our family was sure our house had already burned down and according to this….it has not. Bless you M.J.

Leave a comment